Federal State Soil Experts Working Group

The Federal State Soil Experts Working Group (“Bodenspezialisten der Bundesländer”) was formed with the aim of improving soil fertility. Today, this group forms part of the VDLUFA section I “Plant nutrition, product quality and protection of resources“. Its members are appointed by the federal governments. The activities of the soil experts are supported by the BMEL (Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture) which sends delegates to all events of the working group.


The members of the soil expert working group come from the agricultural administration as well as the agricultural research facilities of Federal and State Government and focus on issues of soil protection, agroecology and soil management adapted to the needs of individual locations.

The tasks of the group include the exchange of information and experience. The experts coordinate and, when necessary, act as counsellors or advisors for federal and regional ministries concerning the following topics:

  • Eco-friendly soil management adapted to the needs of individual locations
  • Field soil classification
  • Rsik assessment of agricultural management on soil functions
  • Implementation of regulations concerning soil management on farms

1. Chairwoman: Marion Senger
Champer of Agriculture, Lower Saxony, Department of plants
Johanssenstraße 10, 30159 Hanover, Germany
Mail: senger.marion@lwk-niedersachsen.de
Phone: +49.511.3665.4250  
Fax: +49.511.3665.4525
2. Chairman: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Göbel  
Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf, Fakultät Landwirtschaft
Steingruberstraße 2, 91746 Weidenbach, Germany
Phone: +49.9826.654.201   Fax: +49.9826.654.4201